Climate Alliance

The European Secretariat of Climate Alliance of European Cities with Indigenous Rainforest Peoples’, a city network with 1,700 local authorities in 26 European countries, is based in Frankfurt am Main. Six National Coordination Offices are working for the network, namely in Austria, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Switzerland and Hungary. In addition, to strengthen its European activities Climate Alliance maintains an office in Brussels.

The Climate Alliance members are in Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine. Climate Alliance offers various information and activities regarding municipal climate protection, supporting indigenous peoples and protection of the tropical forests.

Climate Alliance is also a part of the Covenant of Mayors initiative, which is signed until now by more than 6,600 local authorities, and thus is also represented in the Covenant of Mayors Office.

Know more

The new integrated Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy was launched by the European Commission on 15 October 2015 during a Ceremony in the European Parliament in Brussels. The three pillars of the strengthened Covenant – mitigation, adaptation, and secure, sustainable and affordable energy – were symbolically endorsed on this occasion.

The Covenant of Mayors for Climate & Energy brings together thousands of local and regional authorities voluntarily committed to implementing EU climate and energy objectives on their territory. Signatories now pledge to reduce CO2 emissions by at least 40% by 2030 and to adopt an integrated approach to tackling mitigation and adaptation to climate change.

Know more


POWER tweets